MoD-PMI 2019
4th International Workshop on Models and Data for Plasma-Material Interaction in Fusion Devices
Date: 18-20 June 2019
Venue: National Institute for Fusion Science (NIFS), 322-6 Oroshi-cho, Toki, Gifu 509-5292, JAPAN

This workshop is supported by the NINS program of Promoting Research by Networking among Institutions (Grant Number 01411702).

poster MoD-PMI2019.pdf

Scientific scope and aims

The International Workshop on Models and Data for Plasma-Material Interaction in Fusion Devices (MoD-PMI 2019) is organized in cooperation with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) for the fourth time. This workshop was initiated by the ICTP-IAEA Conference on MoD-PMI held in Trieste in 2014. Following the ICTP event, the first workshop on MoD-PMI was held in Marseille (2015), the 2nd workshop in Loughborough (2016), and the 3rd workshop in Jülich (2017).

The workshop is intended to bring together researchers from the areas of fusion energy and materials science to review advances, both experimental and in the modelling, in study and understanding of processes relevant to plasma-material interaction in fusion devices.

The workshop aims to provide a bridge between fundamental and multi-scale computations and interpretation of experimental data. A variety of processes to be addressed spans a wide range of scales and includes material erosion, transport and trapping of hydrogen and helium in fusion relevant materials, as well as changes in the material microstructure, composition and morphology.


MoD-PMI will cover all topics on advances in computational and experimental studies related to PMI processes and microstructural evolution of fusion relevant materials. Specific topics include the following:

Invited speakers

Jean-Paul Allain (Univ. Illinois, USA)
Utkarsh Bhardwaj (BARC, India)
Johann Bouchet (CEA, France)
Bastiaan J. Braams (CWI, Netherlands)
Sergei Dudarev (CCFE, UK)
Paul Erhart (Chalmers Univ. of Tech., Sweden)
Christoph Freysold (MPI f
ür Eisenforschung GmbH, Germany)
Ahmed Hassanein (Purdue Univ., USA)
Kalle Heinola (IAEA, Austria)
Kenzo Ibano (Osaka Univ., Japan)
Ryo Kobayashi (Nagoya Inst. Tech., Japan)
Predrag Kristic (Stony Brook University, USA)
Byeongchan Lee (Kyung Hee Univ., Korea)
Yonggang Li (Inst. Solid State Physics CAS, China)
Sabina Markelj (Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia)
Tsuyoshi Miyazaki (NIMS, Japan)
Thomas Morgan (DIFFER, Netherlands)
Seiki Saito (Yamagata Univ., Japan)
Thomas Schwarz Selinger (MPI für Plasmaphysik, Germany)
Tomoaki Suzudo (JAEA, Japan)
Takeshi Toyama (Tohoku Univ., Japan)
Chris Van de Walle (Univ. California, USA)
Yoshiyuki Watanabe (QST, Japan)
Jianmin Yuan (National Univ. Defense Tech., China)
Linfeng Zhang (Princeton Univ., USA)

International scientific committee

Jean-Paul Allain (University of Illinois, USA), Bas Braams (CWI, Netherlands), Gregory de Temmerman (ITER Organization, France), Maria Ganchenkova (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute, Russia), Yves Ferro (Aix-Marseille Université, France), Daiji Kato (National Institute for Fusion Science, Japan), Predrag Kristic (Stony Brook University, USA), Christian Linsmeier (Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany), Duc Nguyen-Manh (CCFE, UK), Joerg Neugebauer (Max-Plank-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH, Düsseldorf, Germany), Kai Nordlund (University of Helsinki, Finland), Takuji Oda (Seoul National University, Korea), Klaus Schmid (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik Garching, Germany), Manoj Warrier (BARC Visakhapatnam, India), Brian Wirth (University of Tennessee at Knoxville, USA), Hong-Bo Zhou (Beihang University, China), Kalle Heinola (IAEA, Vienna, Austria)

Local organizers

Daiji Kato (Chair), Hiroaki Nakamura, Suguru Masuzaki, Izumi Murakami, Katsuyoshi Tsumori, Naoko Ashikawa, Atsushi M. Ito, Hiroyuki A. Sakaue, Arimichi Takayama, Masayuki Tokitani, Yukinori Hamaji, Miyuki Yajima

Important dates

Deadline for registration and visa request: 18 March 2019
Extended Deadline for registration: 19 April 2019
Deadline for abstracts: 19 April 2019

Scientific programme

Abstract submission

The deadline for the abstract submission is 19 April 2019. Oral and poster presentations are welcome. A one page abstract must be submitted using the template available here.

Please email your abstract and oral/poster preference to


The registration is free of charges. For registration, please fill out the registration form and sent it to by 18 March 2019 extended until 19 April 2019.

The workshop dinner will take place on Tuesday (18th June) at Yamagami Onsen, Japanese hotspring house in Toki ( During the dinner, there are also attraction of Japanese instrumental ensemble. For participation to the workshop dinner (by reservation), a fee of 10,000 JPY will be collected by cash.

We prepare a lunch box of 500 JPY by reservation.


For participants who require a visa to travel to Japan, an invitation letter will be provided to facilitate the visa application process. For this purpose please send an invitation letter request to the local organizers ( not later than 18 March 2019, providing your passport details (nationality, passport number, issue and expiry dates), and the mailing address to where the invitation letter is delivered.

Format of the meeting

MoD-PMI 2019 will be held at a conference room in National Institute for Fusion Science. The meeting will start on Tuesday morning (18th June) and finish in the afternoon of Thursday (20th June).

Getting to NIFS

Please consult our website


Delagates are responsible for arranging their own accomodation. Information of hotels near Tajimi train station is following.
A limited number of rooms in institute guest house ( have been reserved. If you wish to reserve one of these rooms please contact to with a note that you are paricipant of MoD-PMI2019. The cost is 2,600 JPY per day.

Copyright©2018-2019 National Institute for Fusion Science